The Fortress of the lake A4
West tower with four levels of 202 sqm, consists of a living room with fireplace on the ground floor, kitchen and bathroom on the first floor, one bedroom on the second floor, a large double bedroom with ensuite bathroom on the third floor made loft. Spectacular lake view garden exclusive property of 215 square meters with access driveway
Tower West on four floors of 136 sqm net (202 sqm) consisting of living room with fireplace on ground floor; kitchen and bathroom on the first floor; a bedroom on the second floor; one large bedroom on the third floor suite with a bathroom on a mezzanine. Spectacular views on the Lake. Private garden of 215 square meters with a acces also by car
The “Rocca of Lake” fortress is immersed in the green hills of Umbria, near Tuscany, on the shores of Lake Trasimeno.The apartments set in the fortress have been restored with great care and pleasure and are the result of a careful choice of materials.The fortress is a unique dwelling reserved for few lucky admirers who love life in harmony with nature, history and art, in a territory rich with excellence.The fortress complex is located just thirty minutes by car from the historical centre of Perugia and 15 minutes from Cortona (Tuscany).
A Bit Of History: The “Rocca of Lake" fortress, mentioned in history starting back in 1363, is located in the town of San Feliciano in Magione (Perugia, Italy), with stunning views overlooking Lake Trasimeno.The complex is a four-sided fort where only the Torre di Ponente tower and the surviving structures of an ancient monastery were found in the first half of the fourteenth century. In 1372, another tower and the residential building by Nicola di Tommaso Masci were added, all surrounded by a protective wall.Over time, the fortress became a fortified residence, partially losing the distinguished military features that had characterised it, and ownership passed over to the Baglioni family of Perugia.In the Perugia cartography of the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, the “Rocca della Corgna” fortress is also named, but attribution continues to go to the family of Perugia.Finally, in 1495, the building was reported as a castrum with 11 fires in the sixteenth century and passed to the Pompili (or Panphili) family.During the Barberina war (1641 - 1649) the castle suffered enormous damage and was restored by local farmers and fishermen.Starting from the seventeenth century, the fortress underwent a rapid phase of decay and neglect that lasted until present day renovation.